We thank all our Sponsors for their support and assistance throughout the year, without which it is very difficult to continue to provide the facilities and opportunity for people in the Bangor area to play and enjoy cricket.

This page is best viewed in landscape mode

Please rotate your mobile device

Bangor Cricket Club 3rd XI2017


Date Opponents Venue Result Details
Sat 15th Apr
Sun 16th Apr
Sat 22nd Apr
Sun 23rd Apr
Sat 29th Apr
Sun 30th Apr
Sat 6th May
Sun 7th May North Down III L(H) Lost by 36 runs Report
Sat 13th May Victoria II MC(H) Won Walkover
Sun 14th May
Sat 20th May Ballymena III L(A) Won by 6 wkts Report
Sun 21st May
Sat 27th May
Sun 28th May Cooke Collegians II L(A) Won by 4 wkts Report
Sat 3rd Jun Armagh III MC(A) Lost unable to field a team
Sun 4th Jun Muckamore IV L(H) Won by 7 runs
Sat 10th Jun Academy III L(H) Lost by 28 runs
Sun 11th Jun
Sat 17th Jun North Down III L(A) Lost by 8 wkts
Sun 18th Jun
Sat 24th Jun Ballymena III L(H) Won by 9 wkts
Sun 25th Jun
Sat 1st Jul
Sun 2nd Jul Academy III L(A) Won Match awarded to Bangor
Sat 8th Jul Armagh III L(A) Match tied
Sun 9th Jul
Sat 15th Jul
Sun 16th Jul Cooke Collegians II L(H) Lost by 9 wkts
Sat 22nd Jul
Sun 23rd Jul Carrickfergus III L(A) Won by 5 wkts
Sat 29th Jul
Sun 30th Jul
Sat 5th Aug
Sun 6th Aug
Sat 12th Aug
Sun 13th Aug Carrickfergus III L(H) Lost by 60 runs
Sat 19th Aug Muckamore IV L(A) Postponed Rearranged for 9th Sep
Sun 20th Aug
Sat 26th Aug
Sun 27th Aug
Sat 2nd Sep Armagh III L(H) Lost by 27 runs
Sun 3rd Sep
Sat 9th Sep Muckamore IV L(A) Lost unable to field a team
Sun 10th Sep
Sat 16th Sep
Sun 17th Sep
Sat 23rd Sep
Sun 24th Sep
Sat 30th Sep

MC - Minor (Lindsay) Cup

Cooke Collegians II v Bangor III - 28th May 2017 (League)

On an overcast Sunday Bangor 3's travelled to Dunmurry to play Cooke 2's in the league seeking to build on last week's first win of the season.

Cooke elected to bat on the very uneven, unpredictable Fullerton pitch. Making slow progress Cooke achieved 38 of their first 15 overs. Cox took two wickets and young Escott a fine return catch and Quinn taking a terrific skier immediately after being relocated to the deep leg boundary! As Cooke accelerated the boundaries started to flow, but not as quickly as the miserly umpires calling a multitude of "extras"! As run outs came into play, young Cox's superb direct hit removed the opener Brew (22). Some aggressive hitting by the lower order saw Cooke achieve a creditable 129 -8 in their 30 overs. The bowlers generally bowled well but the 47 extras (42 wides/no balls- the equivalent of bowling 7 extra overs) can't be repeated chaps! Cox achieved 3-26 and Escott 2-27, with Millar and Cox (senior) taking fine catches.

Bangor's innings once again built steadily faced with a very enthusiast and noisy Cooke team. Once Houstoun (8) departed, McPeak entered and began with some destructive hitting as the run rate accelerated. Escott (11) fell shortly after a "chucking" controversy, which was handled extremely well by the brave young umpire Pyper! McPeak (45) fell just short of his half century having chalked off a majority of the runs including some big boundaries. Bates and the skipper then formed a sound partnership to lead the boys home, with Bates finishing unbeaten on 18. Bangor winning comfortably with 4 overs to spare and by 4 wickets.

Well done chaps, another solid performance with bat, ball and in the field. Let's just tighten up on the extras!

Next weekend Bangor 3's have a busy weekend with cup (away) and league (home) matches.

Cooke Collegians II 129-9 (C Cox 3-26, B Escott 2-27)

Bangor III 130-6 (K McPeak 45)

Bangor III won by 4 wkts


Ballymena III v Bangor III - 20th May 2017 (League)

On a cloudy, rain threatened day Bangor Thirds travelled to meet Ballymena Thirds at Eaton Park for a league match.

Winning the toss Bangor inserted the hosts. Pyper and Bates opened the bowling and the first wicket fell in the 5th over. Wickets fell steadily with some miserly bowling (Escott, Boyd and Chapman) backed up by solid fielding. Ballymena only managed one significant partnership (32) and were never able to settle to build a substantial innings. The excellent Pyper, taking 4 wickets, was well supported by his colleagues who shared the wickets. Millar (junior) took two stumpings and a catch (just like dad) and the skipper held two catches. Ballymena finished with a sluggish 85 in 29 overs.

After the customary, excellent, Ballymena tea the openers Houstoun (senior) and Escott (junior) quickly set about the hosts attack as the rain threatened. Escott (18) fell in the 8th over with the score on 43. A mini collapse threatened before Houstoun steadied the ship, before Millar came in to thrash. Just after Houstoun completed his fifty he fell. This allowed Cox and Boyd to seal the victory with Bangor winning by 6 wickets and 15 overs to spare.

Well done boys, a solid performance where all contributed.

Next match is on Sunday away to Cooke in the league.

Ballymena III 84 (C Pyper 4-15)

Bangor III 85-4 (P Houstoun 52, B Escott 19)

Bangor III won by 6 wkts


Bangor III v North Down III - 7th May 2017 (League)

The Thirds commenced their league campaign at a sunny Upritchard versus local rivals North Down. The visitors won the toss and put together several steady partnerships. Pyper and Bates opened and bowled some tidy early overs. Then Hare broke the opening partnership with two wickets in his first over, with Kerr taking a good catch. Rooschuz and Hare bowled some tight overs and Hare took a quick return catch. As N Down picked up the pace attempting some big hits the skipper took a stumping before catching the opener (Napier - 64) in the final over. The visitors finishing on a strong 162-5 in 30 overs. Overall this was a generally tidy bowling and fielding performance in hot, batting friendly, conditions.

Houston (28) and Hamilton put together a useful opening partnership before four quick wickets fell (for 37). Bates (16) and the skipper (21) steadied the ship before both falling quickly close together. As the required run rate rose, Cox (13) and Hare (22*) ran well for a good partnership before the innings ran out of steam with last man, Rooschuz, falling injured. Bangor all out 36 runs short in the 27th over.

Overall this was a determined performance against an experienced N Down team. Well done chaps. Now let's get down to nets and get more practice in before the Home cup game this Saturday.

North Down III 162-6 (D Napier 64, A Hare 3-22)

Bangor III 126 (P Houstoun 28)

Bangor III lost by 36 runs

Junior League 5 P W T L NR Pts
North Down III 14 8 0 6 0 32
Cooke Collegians II 14 8 0 6 0 32
Muckamore IV 14 7 0 5 2 28
BANGOR III 14 6 1 7 0 26
Armagh III * 14 7 1 3 3 26
Ballymena III 14 6 0 8 0 24
Academy III 14 6 0 6 2 24
Carrickfergus III 14 3 0 10 1 12

* Points deducted for failing to fulfill fixtures