We thank all our Sponsors for their support and assistance throughout the year, without which it is very difficult to continue to provide the facilities and opportunity for people in the Bangor area to play and enjoy cricket.

This page is best viewed in landscape mode

Please rotate your mobile device

Bangor Cricket Club 3rd XI2014


Date Opponents Venue Result Details
Sat 18th Apr
Sun 20th Apr
Sat 26th Apr
Sun 27th Apr Dundrum II L(H) Won by 108 runs Report
Sat 3rd May
Sun 4th May Waringstown IV L(H) Won by 7 wkts Report
Sat 10th May
Sun 11th May Millpark II L(A) Postponed Rearranged for 6th Jul
Sat 17th May
Sun 18th May Holywood III L(A) Postponed Rearranged for 12th Jun
Sat 24th May Carrickfergus III MC(A) Postponed Rearranged for 1st Jun
Sun 25th May
Sat 31st May Lisburn III L(A) Lost by 12 runs
Sun 1st Jun Carrickfergus III MC(A) Won by 6 wkts
Sat 7th June Muckamore III MC(H) Postponed Rearranged for 15th Jun
Sun 8th June Instonians IV L(A) Postponed Rearranged for 23rd Jul
Thu 12th Jun Holywood III L(A) Match Tied
Sat 14th Jun
Sun 15th Jun Muckamore III MC(H) Lost by 7 wkts
Sat 21st Jun
Sun 22nd Jun
Sat 28th Jun Ards II L(A) Lost by 61 runs Report
Sun 29th Jun
Sat 5th Jul
Sun 6th Jul Millpark II L(A) Won by 7 wkts
Sat 12th Jul
Sun 13th Jul
Sat 19th Jul
Sun 20th Jul Waringstown IV L(A) Won by 2 wkts
Wed 23rd Jul Instonians IV L(A) Lost by 3 wkts
Sat 26th Jul
Sun 27th Jul Millpark II L(H) Postponed Rearranged for 7th Sep
Sat 2nd Aug
Sun 3rd Aug Lisburn III L(H) Postponed Rearranged for 9th Aug
Sat 9th Aug Lisburn III L(H) Won by 64 runs
Sun 10th Aug
Sat 16th Aug Holywood III L(H) Won by 7 wkts
Sun 17th Aug
Sat 23rd Aug Instonians IV L(H) Won by 21 runs
Sun 24th Aug Ards II L(H) Won by 2 wkts
Sat 30th Aug
Sun 31st Aug
Sat 6th Sep Dundrum II L(A) Won by 2 wkts
Sun 7th Sep Millpark II L(H) Won by 97 runs

MC - Minor (Lindsay) Cup

Ards II v Bangor III - 28th June 2014 (League)

With the mass exodus bought on by the school holidays Saturday saw a youthful looking 3rds team make their way across to Londonderry Park to face Ards 2nds. Ards won the toss, elected to bat and made a solid start getting to 48 runs before the first wicket fell to Ryan Chambers in the eighth over. Chris Boal and Abdul Satti both bowled tightly taking one wicket each to get the scoreboard to 104 for three after twenty overs.

The spinners were then bought on with young Owen Aicken making his debut at senior cricket level. Bowling left arm leg spin Owen had a Share Warnesque introduction taking a wicket with his first delivery courtesy of a sharp diving catch at cover by fellow spinner Callum Houstoun and a stumping by Ross Millar on his fifth delivery. Owen finished his short three over spell with three wickets for 21 runs and a lot of promise for the future.

Ards batsman D Osbourne (55 not out) accelerated the run rate at the end of the inning with 45 runs coming off the last four overs to leave Ards finishing with a total of 186 off their thirty overs.

The first two Bangor wickets had fallen for 20 runs by the sixth over at which stage Zach Kerr joined Abdul Satti at the crease and saw acceleration in the run rate with the pair putting on a quick 35 before some confusion in the calling saw Zach run out. The proverbial second bus then appeared with a second run out, followed by a succession of cheap wickets. With Abdul at the crease and scoring freely there was still optimism on the high scoring ground. Abdul went for 40 with the score at 99 after 18 overs but only three wickets left. The tail put on a further 26 runs in five overs but Bangor just ran out of wickets preventing any final onslaught and leaving Ards deserved victors by 61 runs.

Ards II 186/6 in 30 (D Osborne 55no, O Aiken 3-21)

Bangor III 125 (A Satti 40, D Osborne 3-21)

Bangor lost by 61 runs


Bangor III v Waringstown IV - 4th May 2014 (League)

Last Sunday, Bangor III welcomed a young but very talented Waringstown IV to Ward Park. Waringstown called the toss correctly & chose to bat first.

The young opening batsmen put on a very impressive stand of 71 despite a super spell of bowling by Daniel Robinson, his first 5 overs only going for 6 runs. Josh Lowry was then introduced into the attack and after stifling the set batsmen, dismissed both openers. The following batters found it hard to score and finished their 30 overs with a score of 112 for 5.

Bangor’s reply was comfortable, even though the first 3 batsmen fell LBW while in the late teens. It was left to set Kris King, just back from his Honeymoon, to see Bangor home with a couple of lusty blows.

That’s 2 wins in 2 for the 3rds.

Waringstown IV 112/5 in 30 overs (J Lowry 3-13, D Robinson 1-12)

Bangor III 113/3 (K King 37 no, A Sirpal 19, J Lowry 18, W Goldthorpe 16)

Bangor won by 7 wickets


Bangor III v Dundum II - 27th April 2014 (League)

Bangor III league campaign started off with a comfortable win over Dundrum II at Upritchard Park last Sunday.

Skipper Mike Kwelu won the toss and chose to bat first. Openers Paul Houston & debutant Sam Ethakoti got off to a flying start, putting on a stand of 144 in just 20 overs. Then there was a middle order contribution by Peter McIlwaine & Ian Fletcher, with Fletcher reaching his 50 off the last ball of the innings, but the star of the show was Ethakoti, who bludgeoned his way to a very entertaining century, eventually running himself out for 110.

Dundrum's daunting task of chasing 254 runs in 35 overs was made even more difficult as young Daniel Robinson took 2 wickets in his first devastating over. Daniel took another wicket in his 3rd over to leave the visitors at 25 for 3. All bowlers bowled well and Dundrum weren’t allowed to score freely. With Josh Lowry chipping in with a wicket, it was left to star man Ethakoti to wrap up the match by taking the final 2 wickets. Dundrum fell 108 runs short of their target in the allotted 35 overs.

Bangor III 254/4 in 35 overs (S Ethakoti 110, I Fletcher 50*)

Dundrum II 146/6 in 35 overs (D Robinson 3-33, S Ethakoti 2-16)

Bangor won by 108 runs

Junior League 5 P W T L NR Pts
BANGOR III 14 10 1 3 0 42
Holywood III 14 8 1 4 0 34
Dundrum II 14 8 0 6 0 32
Waringstown IV 14 7 0 6 1 28
Lisburn III 14 7 0 7 0 28
Instonians IV 14 7 0 6 1 28
Ards II 14 5 0 9 0 20
Millpark II 14 1 0 11 2 0*

* Points deducted for failing to fulfil fixtures